top of page

History of the Nowra Bomaderry Jets

The Nowra-Bomaderry Jets are an Australian Rugby League football team based in the towns of Nowra & Bomaderry, 2 neighbouring coastal towns on the NSW South Coast.

The club is a part of the Country Rugby League Organisation.

The team formed in late 2007, playing their first game as Shoalhaven Jets in 2008, after it was voted Nowra Warriors and Bomaderry Swamp Rats would merge after many years of struggling to field teams.

The Nowra Warriors and Bomaderry Swamp Rats still field teams in junior rugby league competitions. 


It was announced that the newly merged team would be called the Shoalhaven Jets and their colours would be blue, gold, and black. This is the natural result from the colours of each side, with Bomaderry formerly of blue and gold and Nowra of gold and black. The logo was similar to that of NSWRL Premier League side, Newtown Jets.


After missing the 2011 First Grade season, the side was able to recruit enough players and sponsors to field a team in the 2012 Group 7 Rugby League first grade competition. The club re-branded themselves to "Nowra-Bomaderry" and established a new logo. The logo is based on the original logo, but utilises the club's colours of gold, blue and black. The year 2012 is also brandished on the logo.

The Ladies League Tag team won their first premiership.


 After years of struggling, the Jets won the first grade competition in 2014. Nowra Warriors, then as a stand alone club, had last won the premiership in 1996, Under Captain Adrian Weller and Coach Keith Clarke. Led by Captain Coach Ben Wellington, the Nowra-Bomaderry Jets completed a fairy tale finish by beating Warilla 30-20.


After three years of no fielding an Under 18's team, the Jets won the Under 18's premiership in 2015. Coached by journeyman and the Jets 1st Grade prop Mick Blattner ,they completed another fairy tale for the club with many of the players still only 17. 


The Jets face the 2019 season fielding 3 teams; First Grade, Reserve Grade and Ladies League Tag. First Grade will see Dylan Farrell as First Grade Coach, along with Darryl Farrell as Manager.


2012- Ladies League Tag

2014- First Grade

2015- Under 18's

The 2019 Executive Committee is:

President: Mark Berry

Secretary: Susan Edwards

Treasurer: Carol Weller

First Grade Coach- Dylan Farrell

First Grade Manager- Darryl Farrell

Reserve Grade Coach- Jason Sharpe & Warren Goodsell

Ladies League Tag Coach- Russell Colgate

bottom of page